Mawlana Hazar Imam is scheduled to arrive in Ottawa on 14 November to preside over the inaugural Global Pluralism Awards ceremony, being held Wednesday.

The awards will recognise a number of individuals and organisations that work to build inclusive societies around the world. You can watch the ceremony live at 6 p.m. EST, on 15 November at

This year’s selection process saw 230 nominations from 43 countries. Three winners will be recognised at the ceremony, along with seven honourable mentions.

The awards will be presented by Mawlana Hazar Imam, who is Chairman of the Board of the Global Centre for Pluralism. The ceremony will be held at the Delegation of the Ismaili Imamat.

The 2017 award winners are: Leyner Palacios Asprilla of Colombia for his work as a community leader and human rights advocate fighting for the rights of Colombian conflict victims; Kenya’s Alice Wairimu Nderitu for her work as a peacemaker, conflict mediator, and gender equality advocate, emphasising the importance of an approach to peacemaking that values diversity; and Australian human rights lawyer Daniel Webb, a leader in protecting the rights of refugees and asylum seekers.

The ceremony will also be attended by the Rt. Hon. Beverley McLachlin, Chief Justice of Canada; the Rt. Hon. Adrienne Clarkson, Global Centre for Pluralism board member and former Governor General of Canada; and the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, former Prime Minister of Canada and Chair of the award jury.

Other jurors include His Worship Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary; Bience Gawanas, lawyer and special adviser to the Minister of Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare of Namibia; Dante Caputo, former Foreign Minister of Argentina; and Pascale Thumerelle, former vice-president of Vivendi in France.